Who We Are

The Multimedia Commons initiative is a collaborative effort among researchers at several institutions.


Julia Bernd International Computer Science Institute, USA
Damian Borth
German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), Germany
Carmen Carrano
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
Jaeyoung Choi ICSI & Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
Benjamin Elizalde Carnegie Mellon University, USA, & ICSI
Gerald Friedland International Computer Science Institute
Ariel Gold Amazon Web Services, USA
Luke Gottlieb Synopsis, Inc., USA, & ICSI
Adam Janin International Computer Science Institute
Martha Larson TU Delft & MediaEval Benchmarking Initiative
Karl Ni In-Q-Tel, USA, & LLNL
Roger Pearce Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Doug Poland Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
David A. Shamma Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica, The Netherlands
KD Singh Amazon Web Services
Bart Thomee YouTube


YLI Feature Computation: Damian Borth, Carmen Carrano, Jaeyoung Choi, Benjamin Elizalde, Luke Gottlieb, Karl Ni, Roger Pearce

YLI Distribution and Demos: Khalid Ashraf, Julia Bernd, Damian Borth, Jaeyoung Choi, Benjamin Elizalde, Gerald Friedland, Ariel Gold, Karina Goot, Luke Gottlieb, Matt Jamieson, Adam Janin, Eungchan Kim, Bryan Morgan, Karl Ni, KD Singh, Jed Sundwall, Xiao-Yong Wei

YLI-GEO Subcorpus: Damian Borth, Liangliang Cao, Carmen Carrano, Jaeyoung Choi, Benjamin Elizalde, Gerald Friedland, Claudia Huff, Martha Larson, Bart Thomee, Olivier Van Laere

YLI-MED Subcorpus: Julia Bernd, Damian Borth, Carmen Carrano, Jaeyoung Choi, Benjamin Elizalde, Gerald Friedland, Heather Gallagher, Luke Gottlieb, Adam Janin, Sara Karabashlieva, Florin Langer, Karl Ni, Jocelyn Takahashi, Jennifer Won

Analysis Tools: Khalid Ashraf, Damian Borth, Andreas Dengel, Benjamin Elizalde, Ekaterina Gonina, Forrest Iandola, Adam Janin, Sebastian Kalkowski, Kurt Keutzer, Christian Schulze, Jia Yangqing

MMCommons Workshop: Julia Bernd, Damian Borth, Jaeyoung Choi, Benjamin Elizalde, Gerald Friedland, Adam Janin, Martha Larson, Chong-Wah Ngo, Karl Ni, Doug Poland, David Ayman Shamma, Bart Thomee

The Source

The Multimedia Commons initiative was made possible by the researchers at Yahoo Labs who produced the Yahoo Flickr Creative Commons 100 Million (YFCC100M) dataset, including Bart Thomee, Li-Jia Li, Nikhil Rasiwasia, and David A. Shamma, along with the Yahoo Webscope and Legal teams.

Principal Funders

Distribution of the Multimedia Commons dataset via AWS is enabled by Amazon’s Public Data Sets program.

Work on the YLI feature corpus, annotated subcorpora, and tools is funded by:

  • A collaborative Laboratory Directed Research and Development project led by Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, under the auspices of the U.S. Dept. of Energy (contract DE-AC52-07NA27344)
  • A grant from Cisco Systems, Inc. for Event Detection for Improved Speaker Diarization and Meeting Analysis
  • A National Science Foundation grant for the SMASH project: Scalable Multimedia content AnalysiS in a High-level language (grant IIS-1251276)
  • A FITweltweit postdoctoral fellowship grant from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

Any opinions, findings, and conclusions expressed on this website are those of the individual researchers and do not necessarily reflect the views of the funders.


Questions about the Multimedia Commons dataset or tools? Contact us at multimedia-commons@icsi.berkeley.edu.